Volume 9 - Kenton Hamlet and District
R S Brown, 1979
We have made reference earlier in this volume to the one-time hamlet of Preston (which like Kenton is now a mature suburb) and it is not the intention to dwell upon it in any detail. An early brochure describes Preston as "...a delightful spot less than 10 miles from London, situated in the midst of charming countryside ...a land of undulating character ...unique not only for its beautiful surroundings but for the fact that there is none of the deadly monotony sometimes found in newly-developed sites."
Preston's main claim to fame is in its association with John Lyon, further details of whom are contained in volume 6 of this series (pages 7 and 33). Lyon owned extensive lands around Preston (with a farmhouse close to the centre of the hamlet) which was bounded by Kenton Road in the north and Preston Hill (named as Clay Lane in old maps) in the east. On his death he left the farm to Harrow School as part of an endowment.
A large area of the farm was subsequently offered by the School to Wembley Council as an open space but negotiations did not materialise and subsequently the land was sold to Costin and Comben and Wakeling for housing development.
The modest railway halt which was opened in 1908 to accommodate passengers arriving for the Olympic Games clay pigeon shoot in nearby Uxendon School became a fully-fledged Metropolitan station in 1933.